Microbiology ( 2010)


Name: Ms. Rukhsana Firdous
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Safia Ahmed
External Reviewers:
Dr. Ananda M. Chakrabarty (Pseudomo@uic.edu)
Dr. Suraiya Rasheed (srasheed@usc.edu)
Prof. Dr. Philip J. Warner (p.j.warner@cranfield.ac.uk)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-03-19
Title of Dissertation: Evaluation of resistance to flouroquinolones in clinical isolates of Escherichia coli, Staphylococcus aureus and pseudomonas aeroginosa




Name: Mr. Bashir Ahmad
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Fariha Hasan
External Reviewers:
Prof. Geoffrey Michael Gadd (g.m.gadd@dundee.ac.uk)
Dr. Christopher French (c.french@ed.ac.uk)
Dr. Austin H. Cantor (acantor@email.uky.edu)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-09-22
Title of Dissertation: Production and characterization of Alkaline Phosphatse from psychrophilic bacteria




Name: Mr. Ejaz Rafiq
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Dr. M. Fayyaz Ch.
External Reviewers:
Prof. Dr. Dwayne G. Westfall (Dwayne.Westfall@ColoState.Edu)
Dr. Cliff Montagne (montagne@montana.edu)
Prof. Dr. Gary S. Sayler (sayler@utk.edu)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-01-05
Title of Dissertation: Integrated and Nutrient Management for Sustaining Irrigated Cotton-Wheat Productivity in Aridisols of Pakistan.




Name: Mr. Ghulam Raza
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Abdul Hameed
External Reviewers:
Prof. Jiakuan Yang (yjiakuan@hotmail.com)
Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels (ludo.diels@vito.be)
Prof. Dr. R. Vasant Kumar (rvk10@cam.ac.uk)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-06-10
Title of Dissertation: Synthesis, Characterization and Environmental Applications of Tio2 Nanoparticles




Name: Mr. Muhammad Khurram
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Abdul Hameed
External Reviewers:
Dr. Diarmaid Hughes (diarmaid.hughes@icm.uu.se)
Dr. Mark T. Hamann (mthamann@olemiss.edu)
Dr. Linda A. Lawton (l.lawton@rgu.ac.uk)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-10-06
Title of Dissertation: Studies on the Isolation and Characterization of Secondary Metabolites from Dodonaea Viscosa and Querus Baloot and their Potential Antimicrobial Agents.




Name: Mr. Muhammad Zia
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. M. Fayyaz Ch
External Reviewers:
Prof. Dr. Hans J. Bohnert (hbohnert@illinois.edu)
Prof. Peter M. Gresshoff (p.gresshoff@uq.edu.au)
Prof. Dr. Pravenn K. Saxena (psaxena@uoguelp.ca)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-08-06
Title of Dissertation: In vitro regeneration ad Agrobacterium mediated transformation of Soybean (Glycina max L.)




Name: Mr. Pir Bux Ghumro
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Abdul Hameed
External Reviewers:
Dr. Muhammad Raheel Malik (malik58@hotmail.com)
Dr. Malcolm J. Horsburgh (M.J.Horsburgh@liverpool.ac.uk)
Dr. Bassam A. Annous (Bassam.Annous@ARS.USDA.GOV)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-02-15
Title of Dissertation: Production, Purification & Characterization of Thermostable Proteases from Bacillus licheniformis




Name: Mr. Riaz-ur-Rehman
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. M. Fayyaz Ch
External Reviewers:
Dr. Praveen K. Sexena (psaxena@uoguelph.ca)
Dr. Khalid Mahmood Khawar (kmkhawar@gmail.com)
Prof. Dr. Ken Killham (info@remedios.uk.com)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-08-06
Title of Dissertation: Tissue Culture, Phytochemical and antioxidant enzymatic studies of Caralluma tuberculata




Name: Mr. Shahzad Hussain
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Abdul Hameed
External Reviewers:
Dr. Karl Drlica (drlicaka@umdnj.edu)
Dr. Muhammad R. Malik (muhammmr@umdnj.edu)
Prof. Dr. Venkat Gopal (Venkat.gopal@usask.ca)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-10-20
Title of Dissertation: Pharmacoepidemiological studies of Some Antimicrobial Drugs with their Socioeconomic and Quality Aspects




Name: Mr. Taha Nazir
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Abdul Hameed
External Reviewers:
Dr. GD Robson (geoff.robson@manchester.ac.uk)
Prof. Dr. Venkat Gopalakrishan (Gopal) (Venkat.gopal@usask.ca)
Dr. Syed M. Shah (syeds@uaeu.ac.ae)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-05-26
Title of Dissertation: Prevalence, Characterization and clinical Evaluation of indigenous Mycobacterium tuberculosis




Name: Mr. Toqeer Ahmad
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Najma Ayub
External Reviewers:
Dr. Yalcin KAYA (ttae@ttae.gov.tr)
Dr. Dee Carter (d.carter@mmb.usyd.edu.au)
Dr. Anthony Cass (t.cass@imperial.ac.uk)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-07-02
Title of Dissertation: Antibacterial Activity of Medicinal Plants Against Water Borne Pathogens Isolated from Ground and Surface Water of Potohar Region in Pakistan




Name: Ms. Maryam Shafiq
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Prof. Dr. Abdul Hameed
External Reviewers:
Dr. Toshiaki Nakajima-Kambe (toshi@sakura.cc.tsukuba.ac.jp)
Dr. Malcolm J. Horosburgh (M.J.Horsburg@liverpool.ac.uk)
Dr. Bassam A. Annous (Bassam.Annous@ARS.USDA.GOV)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-07-20
Title of Dissertation: Some Studies on the production, purification and characterization of proteases from thermophilic Actinomycetes




Name: Ms. Saadia Andleeb
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Safia Ahmed
External Reviewers: Dr. Geoff Robson (geoff.robson@manchester.ac.uk) Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels (ludo.diels@vito.be) Prof. Tony Cass (t.cass@imperial.ac.uk)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-07-08
Title of Dissertation: Biological treatment of effluent Containing textile dyes




Name: Ms. Shazia Erum
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Safia Ahmad
External Reviewers:
Prof. Dr. Chunzhao Liu (czliu@home.ipe.ac.cn)
Prof. Dr. Geoffrey Michael Gadd (g.m.gadd@dundee.ac.uk)
Dr. Anastasia E. M. Chirnside (aemc@UDel.edu)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-09-24
Title of Dissertation: Production of peroxidases from indigenous fungal strains and their application for Azo dye decolorization




Name: Syed Tatheer Alam Naqvi
Department: Microbiology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Safia Ahmad
External Reviewers:
Dr. Toshiaki Nakajima-Kambe (toshi@sakura.cc.tsukuba.ac.jp)
Dr. Rumana Riffat (riffat@gwu.edu)
Dr. G. Jilani Chaudry (jilani.Chaudry@usta.edu)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-01-13
Title of Dissertation: Biodegradation of Carbamates by Soil Bacteria and Characterization of the methyl Carbamates degrading hydrolase .med. heterologously expressed in Escherichia coli.