Biotechnology ( 2010)


Name: Mr. Luqman Amro
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Shahid Mansoor
External Reviewers:
Dr. David M. Bisaro (Bisaro.1@osu.edu)
Prof. E.P. Rybicki (Ed.rybicki@uct.ac.za)
Dr. Joel J. Milner (milner@bio.gla.ac.uk)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-08-03
Title of Dissertation: Resistance breaking cotton leaf curl disease




Name: Mr. Mashkoor Mohsin Gilani
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Abdul Haque
External Reviewers:
Dr. Nakaba Sugimoto (sugimoto@bact.med.osaka-u.ac.jp)
Dr. Claudio A. Avignone-Rossa (c.avignone-rossa@surrey.ac.uk)
Dr. Javier Graizar (Javier.garaizar@ehu.es)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-03-26
Title of Dissertation: Isolation and Characterization of Shiga Toxin Producing E. Coli Strains in Intestinal and Extra-Intestinal Isolates from Local Population




Name: Mr. Muhammad Aamer Mehmood
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Fauzia Y. Hafeez
External Reviewers:
Dr. Isaac John (saac.john@asph.nhs.uk)
Prof. Ann M. Hirsch (www.mcdb.ucla.edu)
Prof. Dr. Anton Harmann (anton.hartmann@helmholtz-muenchen.de)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-10-06
Title of Dissertation: Molecular Characterization of an antifungal chitinase from PGPR




Name: Mr. Muhammad Mubeen
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Shahid Mansoor
External Reviewers:
Dr. David M. Bisaro (Bisaro.1@osu.edu)
Dr. Joel J. Milner (milner@bio.gla.ac.uk)
Dr. Claude M. Fauquet (iltab@danforthcentre.org)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-10-05
Title of Dissertation: Engineering broad-spectrum resistance against begomoviruses by targeting complementary and virion sense genes.




Name: Mr. Muhammad Nadeem Hassan
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Fauzia Y. Hafeez
External Reviewers:
Prof. W. Paul Quick (p.quick@sheffield.ac.uk)
Prof. Ann M. Hirsch (www.mcdb.ucla.edu)
Prof. Dr. Anton Harmann (anton.hartmann@helmholtz-muenchen.de)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-10-06
Title of Dissertation: PGPR mediated suppression of Colletotrichum falcatum Went causing sugarcane red rot




Name: Mr. Muhammad Riaz
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Muhammad Hamid Rashid
External Reviewers:
Dr. Byong Hoon Lee (Byong.lee@mcgill.ca)
Dr. Kouchi Nozaki (konza@shinshu-u.ac.jp)
Dr. Adrian Lapthorn (Adrian@chem.gla.ac.uk )
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-05-13
Title of Dissertation: Engineering of Microbial (Fungal) Glucoamylases by Chemical Modification Techniques for Industrial Application




Name: Mr. Muhammad Shafiq Shahid
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Rob W. Bridden
External Reviewers:
Dr. Tuo Yao (gsyaotuo@163.com)
Dr. Chunda Feng (cfeng@uark.edu)
Dr. Salvatore Rubino (rubino@uniss.it)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-03-12
Title of Dissertation: Molecular Characterization and the Potential use of Begomovirus Associated DNA 1 as a Silencing / Expression Vector




Name: Ms. Hafiza Masooma Naseer Cheema
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Aftab Bashir
External Reviewers:
Dr. Claude M. Fauqet (iltab@danforthcenter.org)
Dr. A Brain Tomsett (tomsett@liv.ac.uk)
Dr. David A. Lightfoot (Ga4082@siu.ed)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-03-09
Title of Dissertation: Characterization of Some Genes Related to the Cotton (Gossypium Hirsutum L.) Fiber Quality




Name: Ms. Maryum Sharif
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Brig. Abdul Khaliq Naveed
External Reviewers:
Saeed Raees (biosmr@ana-gen.com)
Prof. M.A.Q Siddiqui (maq.siddiqi@downstate.edu)
Prof. Khalid Iqbal (kiqbal@mail.con2.com)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-05-07
Title of Dissertation: Prevalence of Various Types of Mitochondrial DNA Mutations in Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus in Pakistan




Name: Ms. Saira Bashir
Department: Biotechnology
Name of Supervisor: Dr. Abdul Haque
External Reviewers:
Dr. Takashi Shina (shiinataka@yahoo.co.jp)
Dr. Johan Robbens (ohan.robbens@ua.ac.be)
Prof. Dr. Bauke W. Dijstra (b.w.dijkstra@rug.nl)
Date of Degree Awarded: 2010-08-23
Title of Dissertation: Molecular characterization of local human Extraintestianl Escherichia coli isolates